The Chinese Zodiac, or in Chinese shA�ngxiA�o, relates each year in a 12-year cycle to an animal and somewhat anthropomorphic attributes connected to that animal.

It isA�similar to theA�Western astrologyA�A�in that it uses a 12-part cycle (though years, not months) and it connects attributes of that cycle to a person based on the time of their birth.

The Chinese zodiac is represented by 12 animals:A�Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, Pig .

The zodiac traditionally begins with the sign of the Rat and follows the order above. People have the same Chinese Zodiac, may be at the same age or may 12 years older than the other one.

The year 2013 is the Snake year. You can try toA�calculate your own Chinese Zodiac.


You may also like:

How to get a Chinese name

Basic Survival Chinese Words and Phrases

Chinese tea

Chinaa��s most ancient musical instrument a�� Guqin